Another Goldcar rant

Started by recordman, December 10, 2018, 14:18:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lorca lad

Hi,

Not sure if people are aware of this, but Ryanair use third parties for car hire (CarTrawler) and for room hire (not sure who this is).

During my many messages with Ryanair,  they informed me that "Ryanair use third parties for car hire and room booking and as such, accept no responsibility for any problems arising from these bookings".

I think that this may be against a law as the booking is made on the Ryanair site and I believe the contract is with the provider.  However, I wouldn't  like to challenge  this in a court !!

Despite this issue, we nearly always use Ryanair, following all their rules, as they are usually the cheapest and most convenient time wise.

Regards
L.L.

Crancrank

Hi, yes a very interesting post and I am also no novice to car hire.

Re: Europecar car hire.
In my experience a bunch of chancers.
We first arrived in Spain last year and prior to leaving the UK we booked a hire car for 4 weeks collecting from Almeria airport on arrival through Europecar.
I specifically booked a car fitted with SatNav so that we could find our way around however the car we were offered did not have SatNav so I complained and the staff happily gave me a Tom Tom to fix in the car and assured me this was free of charge. We then drove around happily for 4 weeks and retuned the car washed, hoovered, refueled and on time to the Mojacar Europecar office all as agreed at the time of hiring. 3 weeks later they emailed me with an invoice attached showing a 50 Euro charge for returning the car to a different office and a 220 Euro charge for the hire of the Tom Tom. I had argue with them for 6 weeks including the threat of a denuncia and in the end they just gave up hassling me. Would definitely not use them again.

However, on the flip side.
Re Ryanair Car Hire:
In my recent experience an excellent service.