bee keeping

Started by trad, January 24, 2014, 09:40:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trad

Quote from: kimbo on January 29, 2014, 07:25:13 AM
Hiya Trad
We are plagued by bees as soon as the sun starts to shine; they come in for the water by the hose connection outside the kitchen door & its sad to have to dispose of them because of the risk to us & the dogs.They have sustenance from the grapes left on the vines outside our garden ( an awful lot).
I know that they are relatively harmless as long as they're not guarding a queen but don't know enough about when things might change.
We thought they would have disappeared along with the droves of wasps but they're here as soon as it warms up a little- last week we shovelled the dead ones that drowned in some standing water in a large pot.
We're in the farming area on the road towards Velez Rubio coming from Saliente.
Do you need a nest or just twenty or thirty?

Thank You
as i am new to this i think when you buy a swarm its about 30.000 bees and a queen just to start a hive as i live in the country i have about 5 acre of rustic land with an abundance of herbs and lavender so thought i would take up bee keeping but i dont seem to be straight forward here in spain

kimbo

Hiya Trad
We are plagued by bees as soon as the sun starts to shine; they come in for the water by the hose connection outside the kitchen door & its sad to have to dispose of them because of the risk to us & the dogs.They have sustenance from the grapes left on the vines outside our garden ( an awful lot).
I know that they are relatively harmless as long as they're not guarding a queen but don't know enough about when things might change.
We thought they would have disappeared along with the droves of wasps but they're here as soon as it warms up a little- last week we shovelled the dead ones that drowned in some standing water in a large pot.
We're in the farming area on the road towards Velez Rubio coming from Saliente.