Woodworm man?

Started by uslot, August 04, 2012, 11:06:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Albondigas

Hi Janet

I'm no expert but can only say what has (hopefully) worked for us

If you're short on time, at least buy a few spray cans of spray - you'll also need a mask as the fumes are not good for you

If you're over here for a week or so, you can then paint with the clear paint (yellow and black tin is the one we used)

Here's a link that may be useful:

http://www.pintarsinparar.com/tratamiento-de-madera/58-xylazel-carcomas.html

The Xylazel brand is available at most ferreterias

Mercadona also have a "contra carcoma" spray in stock - I think the packaging is green and white

Good luck

Janetmayg

Hi,
Can I add myself into this request. I'm not sure if I have woodworm or wood boring beetle. There's a little evidence of wood shaving piles in different rooms but big chomping sounds in the wood beams!
I wouln't want to replace any beams nor can I afford a huge amount of money for treatment nor am I here for long enough to DIY it right now.
How urgent does this sound i.e. can it wait until i do have time to DIY it? If not does anyone have any contacts for me to get some quotes for prof treatment? I am in Bedar.
Thank you!
Janet

uslot

Thanks guys. Will look out for the carcoma paint and give the beams a good going over again. Hope to not need to replace them!

Albondigas

Problem is when you can't replace wooden "vigas" that support the roof - at least not without a lot of mess and a lot of money

We gave ours a good spray, covered them with plastic for a week, then painted on the clear carcoma paint

8 years on and no munching noises, so keeping fingers crossed

jason ward